How to Delete LinkedIn Account Permanently & Temporarily?

LinkedIn is one of the best social media platforms around especially to connect with like-minded professionals and advancing your career. Its privacy controls are also decent and even appreciable. But as your network grows; you might find your LinkedIn messages overflowing or too many jobs offer coming your way. You might find too many resumes reaching your desk. Many are also getting irritated about it turning more into a social site instead of a strictly professional one.

Regardless of the reason, you might want to take yourself off the site first temporarily to decide if getting rid of it would indeed be a good idea. Once sure, you would like to close your LinkedIn account permanently. Let us walk through the steps of achieving each of our aims.

Deleting/ Deactivating LinkedIn Account Temporarily

LinkedIn does not have the facility to temporarily disable or deactivate your account. However, what it does is that it lets your account get in the hibernate mode so that it is not visible or searchable in the search engine results of users not logged into LinkedIn.

To do so, you need to first log into your LinkedIn account using your username/email address and password. Locate the ‘Me’ icon at the top of the home page. Click on it to open a drop-down menu. Select the option, ‘Settings and Privacy’ to open a fresh page. Now select the ‘Privacy’ tab and click on change tab next to the ‘Edit your public profile.’ It will take you to a new page. On the right side, there would be an option, ‘Your Profile’s public Visibility.’ Turn the tab next to it to off.

Usually, it takes some time like a few weeks before your profile ceases to show up queries of search engines. But the move will still allow you to log onto your account or use its services and make your profile visible to all your existing connections.

Any time you wish to reactivate your account; you can reverse the process.

Steps to Delete the LinkedIn Account Permanently

You will lose all your data, connections, endorsements and recommendations along with your profile information with this step. Thus, it is recommended that you download a copy of your information and connections before you delete your account.

Now, log into your account and again select the ‘Me’ icon and ‘Settings and Privacy’ from the dropdown menu. On the new page, select Accounts and then select ‘account management’ tab on the left side of the page. From this page, scroll down and click the ‘change’ tab next to ‘Closing your LinkedIn account.’ It will take you to a fresh page which will ask you the reason for deleting the account. You can choose any one of the listed answers or give your personalized reason in the highlighted box when you select the ‘Others’ tab.

Now click on the ‘Next’ tab at the bottom to move to the next page called Close Consequences. Here, you will be provided all consequences of closing the account and asked to confirm the move by putting in your account password and clicking on the tab, ‘Close Account.’ Once you click on it; you cannot get your profile back.

The closing option is also available to you under the ‘Subscriptions and payments’ option under the ‘Accounts’ tab.

Consequences of Deleting the LinkedIn Account

Once you have deleted your account; you would lose all your information, data, endorsements, connections, etc. from it. Your profile would also not be visible even to LinkedIn users. However, your information and profile might be displayed on search engines like Yahoo, Bing, etc.as LinkedIn takes some time before it fully initiates the deletion.

Users with the premium account would need to resolve all the associated matter before they can close the account.

Usually, LinkedIn takes 72 hours to delete your account that you can request for reopening if the deletion is less than 20 days old. But you would still lose all your Group Memberships, Endorsements and Recommendations, Pending and ignored invitations and your followings.

Wrapping up 

So, we come to the end of the topic. We hope that you can now deactivate or delete your LinkedIn account according to your preferences. But we do recommend to think hard before deleting your LinkedIn account as it is still one of the best platforms to grow your business connections.

Do shout out to us with any queries, suggestions or feedback in the comments section below! Till then, enjoy and share this post with whoever could use the information!

Leave a comment